Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of C.P. Pokphand Limited (the "Company", and together with its subsidiaries, the "Group") announces that Mr. Narong Chearavanont ("Mr. Chearavanont"), has been appointed as an executive director with effect from 1 June 2019.

Mr. Chearavanont, aged 53, was previously an executive director of the Company from 2005 to 2010. He obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from New York University, USA, a Certificate of Advance Management Program in Transforming Proven Leaders into Global Executives from Harvard Business School, Harvard University, USA and an Honorary Doctorate degree of Business Administration from Ramkhamhaeng University, Thailand. He has also completed the Systematic Innovation of Products, Processes, and Services programme at Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management. Mr. Chearavanont has extensive experience in retail, telecommunication, agri-food and other industries. He is the Vice Chairman and an executive director of C.P. Lotus Corporation (a company listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited) and a director of True Corporation Public Company Limited, CP ALL Public Company Limited and Siam Makro Public Company Limited (each a company listed on The Stock Exchange of Thailand).

Mr. Chearavanont is the brother of Mr. Soopakij Chearavanont, Chairman and an executive director of the Company and Mr. Suphachai Chearavanont, Vice Chairman and an executive director of the Company and he is also a cousin of Mr. Meth Jiaravanont, a non-executive director of the Company.

Mr. Chearavanont has confirmed that, as at the date of this announcement and save as disclosed above, (i) he did not hold any other directorship in public companies the securities of which were listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas in the last three years preceding the date of his appointment nor had other major appointment and professional qualifications, (ii) he did not have any relationship with any director, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company, (iii) he did not have any interest in the securities of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance, (iv) he did not hold any other position with the Company or any of its subsidiaries, and (v) there was no information which is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Listing Rules and there were no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in relation to his appointment.

Mr. Chearavanont has been appointed as an executive director of the Company pursuant to a letter of appointment but there is no service contract entered into between the Company and Mr. Chearavanont and he will not receive any director's fee with respect to his appointment as an executive director of the Company. Mr. Chearavanont has not been

appointed for a specific term but is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at annual general meetings in accordance with the bye-laws of the company.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to extend its warmest welcome to Mr. Chearavanont on his re-joining of the Board.

By Order of the Board

Arunee Watcharananan

Director

Hong Kong, 31 May 2019

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises seven executive directors, namely, Mr. Soopakij Chearavanont, Mr. Adirek Sripratak, Mr. Suphachai Chearavanont, Mr. Bai Shanlin, Mr. Sooksunt Jiumjaiswanglerg, Mrs. Arunee Watcharananan and Mr. Yu Jianping; two non-executive directors, namely, Mr. Meth Jiaravanont and Mr. Yoichi Ikezoe; and five independent non-executive directors, namely, Mr. Andrew Ma Chiu Cheung, Mr. Sombat Deo-isres, Mr. Sakda Thanitcul, Mr. Vinai Vittavasgarnvej and Mrs. Vatchari Vimooktayon.