The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 43)

## DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR

The Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for a waiver from strict compliance with Rules 14.38 and 14A.49 of the Listing Rules and for an extension of time for the despatch of the Circular to a date falling on or before 6 June 2008.

Reference is made to the announcement of C.P. Pokphand Co. Ltd. (the "Company") dated 18 April 2008 in relation to (i) a connected transaction and a very substantial disposal; and (ii) certain continuing connected transactions of the Company (the "Announcement"). Terms defined in the Announcement shall have the same meanings when used herein unless the context otherwise requires.

## DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR

Pursuant to Rules 14.38 and 14A.49 of the Listing Rules, the Company is required to despatch a circular (the "Circular") in relation to the Disposal and Continuing Connected Transactions to the shareholders of the Company within 21 days after publication of the Announcement, which is on or before 9 May 2008.

As additional time is required to finalise the letter of advice from the independent financial adviser to the Independent Board Committee and the Independent Shareholders and the property valuation report, for inclusion in the Circular as required by the Listing Rules, the Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for a waiver from strict compliance with Rules 14.38 and 14A.49 of the Listing Rules and for an extension of time for the despatch of the Circular to a date falling on or before 6 June 2008.

By Order of the Board Robert Ping-Hsien Ho Director

Hong Kong, 9 May 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises twelve executive Directors, namely Mr. Sumet Jiaravanon, Mr. Dhanin Chearavanont, Mr. Thanakorn Seriburi, Mr. Meth Jiaravanont, Mr. Anan Athigapanich, Mr. Damrongdej Chalongphuntarat, Mr. Robert Ping-Hsien Ho, Mr. Bai Shanlin, Mr. Soopakij Chearavanont, Mr. Nopadol Chiaravanont, Mr. Benjamin Jiaravanon and Mr. Narong Chearavanont and three independent non-executive Directors, namely Mr. Kowit Wattana, Mr. Sombat Deo-isres and Mr. Ma Chiu Cheung, Andrew.