The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



C.P. POKPHAND CO. LTD.

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) (Stock Code: 43)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR

The Company has made an application to the Stock Exchange for an extension of time for the despatch of the Circular to a date falling on or before 6 October 2006.

Reference is made to the announcement issued by C.P. Pokphand Co. Ltd. (the "Company") dated 24 August 2006 in relation to the continuing connected transactions for the Company (the "Announcement"). Terms defined in the Announcement shall have the same meaning when used herein unless the context otherwise requires.

Pursuant to Rule 14A.49 of the Listing Rules, the Company is required to despatch a circular (the "Circular") in relation to the Reorganized Continuing Connected Transactions to the Shareholders within 21 days after the publication of the Announcement, which is on or before 15 September 2006.

As additional time is required for the Company to finalize the letter from the independent financial adviser to the Independent Board Committee and the Independent Shareholders, for inclusion in the Circular, the Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for a waiver from strict compliance with Rule 14A.49 of the Listing Rules to postpone the despatch of the Circular to a date falling on or before 6 October 2006.

By Order of the Board **Robert Ping-Hsien Ho** *Director*

Hong Kong, 13 September 2006

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises twelve executive Directors, namely Mr. Sumet Jiaravanon, Mr. Dhanin Chearavanont, Mr. Thanakorn Seriburi, Mr. Meth Jiaravanont, Mr. Anan Athigapanich, Mr. Damrongdej Chalongphuntarat, Mr. Robert Ping-Hsien Ho, Mr. Bai Shanlin, Mr. Soopakij Chearavanont, Mr. Nopadol Chiaravanont, Mr. Benjamin Jiaravanon and Mr. Narong Chearavanont and three independent non-executive Directors, namely Mr. Kowit Wattana, Mr. Sombat Deo-isres and Mr. Ma Chiu Cheung, Andrew.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard.