(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 43)

## ANNOUNCEMENT APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of C.P. Pokphand Co. Ltd. (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Kowit Wattana has been appointed as an independent non-executive director and audit committee member of the Company with effect from 7th June, 2005.

Mr. Kowit Wattana, aged 58, obtained a Bachelor of Public Administration (Political Science) from Police Cadet Academy. He has held various senior positions with the Royal Thai Police. He is currently the Police Commissioner-General of the Royal Thai Police.

There is no service contract between the Company and Mr. Wattana. He is not appointed for a specific term but is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the bye-laws of the Company. The amount of director's fee for Mr. Wattana is HK\$120,000 per annum, which is determined based on his anticipated time and effort to be spent on the Company's matter.

Save for the directorship with the Company mentioned above, Mr. Wattana has not previously held and is not holding any position with the Company or any of its subsidiaries. He does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Mr. Wattana has not held any directorship in any listed companies in the last three years. As at the date of this announcement, he does not have any interest or short position in shares, underlying shares or debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

The Board would like to confirm that there is no other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

Taking this opportunity, the Board would like to welcome Mr. Wattana for joining the Company.

By Order of the Board **Dhanin Chearavanont**Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Hong Kong, 7th June, 2005

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises nine executive directors, namely Mr. Jaran Chiaravanont, Mr. Montri Jiaravanont, Mr. Dhanin Chearavanont, Mr. Sumet Jiaravanon, Mr. Prasert Poongkumarn, Mr. Min Tieanworn, Mr. Thirayut Phitya-Isarakul, Mr. Thanakorn Seriburi and Mr. Veeravat Kanchanadul, and three independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Budiman Elkana, Mr. Kowit Wattana and Mr. Cheung Koon Yuet, Peter.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard.